Taqueria Los Taquitos de Puebla

29 Dec

If you don’t speak Spanish say this name 5X times fast. It’s a mouthful…But so is the food. I couldn’t get the taquitos (I believe it’s almost the same as a taco) into my mouth fast enough. The Pollo (Chicken) spoke to me. It said..I am a taquito and I must be eaten cause thats my job. So juicy and flavorful with lettuce and white cheese crumbles. This place doubles its soft taco shells. So the taco does not crumble and get soggy and break like it can.  I can taste why this establishment was voted as a BEST OF PHILLY spot for 2010-2011. But what started my taco love fest off  was the Pico De Gallo with chips. Man and woman I will tell you this is probably the best Pico De Gallo (almost same as salsa but less runny, chunkier with tomatoes, jalapeno and lots of cilantro) I have ever eaten. If you like hot…get this cause it starts to burn (in a good way) and tells you this is authentic Mexican. How do I know that? Well our waitress was Mexican and spoke broken English. We had to explain with my hands what we wanted. Which is fine with me cause being Italian I do that alot. The workers were Mexican and spoke Spanish. The TV was programmed in Spanish and guess what sport the other workers were watching as I enjoyed my feast? You guessed it…Mexican soccer (excuse me I mean football) deportes anyone?

But let’s get back to food. My buddy had the beef tacos. He couldn’t eat all 3 so I was able to hornswaggle one away from him. The meat was tender, juicy and extremely flavorful and spicy. I would order these. There was also guacomole and chips. I was hard pressed not to order these but I am happy I got the PICO.

My buddy told me this small little establishment in the Italian Market sets up a small stand in Headhouse Square and serves tacos on Sundays during the Farmer’s Market. The line for the tacos is like the size of an anaconda after uncoiling its body after a nice rest.

So why am I babbling on here? What I am saying if you haven’t already figured out is if you are in the Italian Market area skip the tourist trap Geno’s and Pat’s Steaks and have a real authentic Mexican meal at this place. You will not be disappointed.

The next Mexican place I want to eat at is El Jarocho. This is supposed to be the best  Mexican place in the city. I will be the judge of that with many many tacos. (:

 

http://www.lostaquitosdepuebla.com/

 

2 Responses to “Taqueria Los Taquitos de Puebla”

  1. Jennifer Ward-Pelar December 30, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    What a wonderful find. Your description made my mouth water. I try to make my own pico (my bro lives in Mexico and explained how to do it “authentic.”) Always comes out too spicey for me. I don’t know if my tastebuds appreciate all the hard work it takes to get “hot in a good way” perfect. But my imagination appreciated your description.

  2. MoreFoodPlease January 2, 2012 at 10:34 am #

    Thanks. Wow. Mexicao. I’m sure he has some great authentic Mexican recipes to share. It really was the best Pico I have tasted. I lived in San Diego for a couple years. So it’s hard to believe that a little Mexican place in Philly could pack so much flavor. But SD still has the best Mexican food (overall) that I have tried.

Leave a comment