Archive | 11:29 am

Barcade

1 Dec

OK so this will be not be so much about food as it is about memories.

Anyone remember Donkey Kong (original)?

Asteroids?

Paperboy?

Tron?

Rampage?

Dig Dug?

Well, if you live in Brooklyn Area of NY or the Philadelphia area you can experience these Arcade Games and more at a place called Barcade.  Located at 1114 Frankford Ave in the Fishtown section of our great Brotherly Love city. This place has all the “High Tech” video games I loved as a kid. Remember when you actually had to leave the home to play these?

Well you can again. But there is more…beer and food. Although I did not try the food I had a few brewski’s. Very pricey for a draft but a delicious beer selection.  And so cool having a good beer playing an arcade game.  It makes you feel like a real man or real woman.

Anyway forget the food and beer for a second… I came for the games. There are about 30-35 arcade games at this brick and mortar saw-dust-on-the-floor building (believe me that’s a good thing).  The cost to play one of these games is  .25 cents.  Let me repeat that because it absolutely bears repeating. The cost is .25 cents. Yes I know how can that be. Well it is and this cost reminds me of a better time in our country when you actually got something of value for your quarter.  For me, it’s not only the great arcade games but the great memories (:

http://barcadephiladelphia.com/games/