My Garden

27 Oct

So do any of you grow a garden?

I did this year.  Most of you are thinking…Big Whup? Everyone has a garden. Yes I agree but this one was on the balcony of my second floor condo. This was a bit of a challenge and costly to boot. But I came out with some delicious basil, mint and rosemary. The tomatoes I planted in 5 gallon pots were not so lucky. I had huge splits on the tops of them. Which I later researched and found out its due to over-watering and excessive rain. My Petunias and marigolds were thriving until recently. Probably because It’s now October… my tomatoes are gone but my Hot peppers are still thriving (go figure). But all in all I am pleased with the outcome. Also I have an Aloe Vera plant that I raised from a pup and now is in a 5 gallon flower-pot.  I have to post a picture of the beast soon.

 

 

4 Responses to “My Garden”

  1. Jennifer Ward-Pelar October 27, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    I loved hearing about your balcony garden. I want to see it! What color were your marigolds?

    • MoreFoodPlease October 27, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      Thank you very much. Yeah it took some work but it came out really nice. The marigolds were a deep yellow with a reddish hue. I will post a pic or two.

      • Jennifer Ward-Pelar December 5, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

        I love those. I know exactly which ones you’re talking about!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gardens around the U.S. | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household - October 27, 2011

    […] gardens around the nation! Our Nation’s Garden (diggrowcompostblog.com) My Garden (clickandgoinfo.wordpress.com) Me pretending I’m a gardener… […]

Leave a comment